POEM- The Man in the Mirror

By Poet 786

Seek Allah’s mercy for me for I remember the sins I have committed

Known to Allah are those of my evils from memory I have deleted

 

Plead on my behalf to grant me the worst corner of Paradise

That will be enough for me, from it my soul shall never arise

 

What sentence would I impose for my crimes if I was the judge & jury

As I begin to count them, I tremble with the thought of my Rabb’s fury

 

Where was I heading? For whom was I living the life I was granted?

I would have been left deaf, dumb & blind if My Creator wanted

 

How many favours of my Lord did I continue to deny?

“I shall repent tomorrow” I would say as time went by

 

Only I was in great loss but little did I realise

Chasing the mirage called Dunya seemed wise

 

The anger of The Most-Forgiving I had surely initiated

Each time I faced my reflection I saw a man hated

 

I fear Allah for I played hide and seek with the man in the mirror

Again I ask you to plead for me for I never held Jannah to be dearer

 

“And march forth in the way (which leads to) forgiveness from your Lord, and for Paradise as wide as are the heavens and the earth, prepared for Al-Muttaqeen (the pious).” [TMQ Aali Imraan: 133]

Leave a Reply

